Since moving to the boat, my bikes have not been stored in a manner befitting their status in my life. My Bike Friday Tikit has been a little better off, folded carefully each evening and stowed in the cockpit under the waterproof travel bag–thank goodness I bought that thing, even if it’s never been used to actually hold the bike.

My Surly was on deck under a bike cover that almost kept the water out. My saddle still became saturated and I bought a brooks cover for it, which for a while just kept the water in, but eventually saddle dried out enough for the cover to keep water out.

I was so embarrassed by these lowly forms of storage that I never took a picture of either one. I ride to work every day and no longer have a car of my own, so biking is my main form of transportation. Beats getting worked up driving and paying for a gym membership. I definitely don’t want my bikes rusting.

I was on a wait list for a bike locker, and the marina staff seemed to be having a hard time contacting people to see if they wanted one of the several available. A few days ago, after almost 4 months, I was offered a spot at the north end of the marina, with the promise that once one came available outside of our dock, they would transfer it. The Surly finally has a dry home.

And if you’ve ever wondered what the inside of one of those bike lockers looks like, now you know.

I don’t think I’ll be able to fit Lucille in there as well, even folded, but we’ll see. I won’t try until I get the closer locker. Chris found a better way to store Lucille for the moment, in our Dock Box. She just fits and stays very dry. I even leave my helmet in there to keep it from cluttering up the boat. So, bike storage managed! Finally.

