Is two masts for sailing. ♪♪

Mixing my songs, but you get the idea. We took Raven in on Friday to have her masts put on–she’s a Ketch, rather than a single masted sloop or cutter. And they got on the Mizzen on just fine, but when they went to step the main, it was discovered that the new part that was added to the bottom, to replace the portion that had dry rot, was a bit too big to fit in the slot. We have to go back next week to get the rest done. A bit anticlimactic.

It was a tight fit getting Raven to the pull out area, but Chris is a master.

The masts, almost ready to go on.

Showering has turned into an interesting adventure. I can shower on Raven, but the water pressure is low and hot water doesn’t last long. I tried the shore showers recently and they are amazing–much better than the one at our apartment. It’s always warm in there, the hot water never runs out and the water pressure is good enough to pick your teeth, if you know what I mean. Getting there is ok. I bundle up in sweats and a jacket and take a basket with my shower stuff up there. I can’t quite shake the feeling that I’m doing the walk of shame though, with my hair all messy in the parking lot in my jammies. I know everyone does it, but it will take some getting used to.

The weather has been very up and down lately. Cold and clear (20°F), making me wish for thermal mittens, balmy and overcast or rainy, 50° or even as high as 68°. It’s been hard to figure out how to dress. Today there’s a lot of water in the air and I had to work at a different branch, so I don’t have my usual backup stuff with me. About 2 hours in, my pants ripped in the usual place and I had to put my rain pants on to finish the day. No pics, sorry ;)

