The freezing weather is over for now and the rain has begun again. I’ll miss the sun and blue skies, but it’s nice not to be cold all the time and have my hands freeze on the way to work. I’ve brought back Lucille as my main bike to ride and I found that I missed her. I was feeling guilty leaving the Surly out in the cold, but Lucille can be folded, put under the dodger and the soft travel bag can be added over the top as a layer of protection. The cold last week inspired me to buy some really heavy duty mittens.

I might have gone a little overboard.

I might have gone a little overboard. Mountain Hardwear, Jalapeno Mitt

And of course they arrived today when the low is 40° instead of 20°. I’m sure they’ll still come in handy this winter.

Currently I am having a Doctor Who (Season 5) marathon on Netflix. Chris is working late and won’t be home until late. I’m cozy and enjoying hearing the occasional rain on the deck. I did a little sewing when I got home, just fixing a couple of small things in the sewing projects from earlier in the week. A lee cloth for the middle one’s bunk (to keep her from rolling out) and making the waist on my skirt a bit more snug. I also made a yoga mat bag, but that didn’t need fixing.

Earlier today I was at the “What’s New in Young Adult Literature and How to Use it in Your Program” workshop put on by the Bureau of Education and Research (BER). If you are a YA librarian and you ever have a chance to go to this, do. It is excellent. I’ve heard tons of book talks and this is the most useful program I’ve been to in years. My hold list is now 100 items long and I have many new ideas for volunteer projects.

