As usual, I make a promise in a blog post and then forget all about it. At the end of Shift in Focus, I said I’d tell you all about Raven in my next boat related post. Then I posted 2 more times about boat stuff, but no introduction! So here I am, making amends.

The Mister has been doing research on sailboats that would be a good option for live-aboard since I’ve met him. Not just for him, but his 3 children and now me as well. His criteria has changed over time with all the looking and bringing me and the kids on board some of his finds. He’s mostly used Yacht World and Craigslist to do online boat shopping.

We knew we needed enough room where the kids were comfortable and a head that didn’t smell (their biggest complaint about our current boat). The Mister finally found a good layout in the Vagabond 47. He didn’t find our Raven right away. In fact, he looked at several others and lost a lead on one in Oregon before he went down to Los Angeles and Marina Del Ray to see Raven.

Here is a G+ album of pictures that the broker took for us before The Mister went down to see it. Here is the original sale post (although this will probably disappear in time). Just an FYI, he did not pay the full asking price. During the haul out and survey there were a few things that need to be fixed. Some before she can sail, so she’ll be decommissioned and hauled up to Seattle. We also intend to replace the counters and sinks in the galley and heads before we move in.

I fell in love with the pictures, but also knew that nothing is as good when you see it in person. The Mister thought this one was different with a broker taking the pictures. He took a chance and went down to look at her and he was very happy with what he found. I came down to see her during the survey, and I was also very happy.

See? Happy!

We still can’t believe how beautiful these teak decks are. We really didn’t think we’d want anything with wood on the deck. Too much of a chance that what’s underneath is no good.

Fast forward to yesterday: The Mister signed the final papers and paid Washington State sales tax. He’s secured moorage at Shilshole Bay Marina and Raven should be coming out of the water for final prepping for her journey in the next week or so. Wish us luck!

