Afterworlds

 

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved loved loved this. Here is a list of what I loved:

 

The two plot lines: one fantasy, one realistic fiction
The insight into the YA writer’s life, the writing process, and publishing industry
The impressionable young author moving to the big city and taking a chance
The lesbian relationship without the book being about lesbian relationships
The dark plot of the fantasy story, the death lord and new psychopomp, the bad man and the patchcoat man, the ghosts
The complexity of the characters
The bits of the other characters/writer’s books that were included

I could go on and on. I did not want it to end.

This book is fairly experimental and it worked for me. I think a lot of adults and teens will like it.

View all my reviews

