I just got home from seeing PJ 20 at the Cinerama.  It was recommended by another mom with a teen, and at first I thought mine would rather see Moneyball, being the bball player he is, but he readily agreed to see the Pearl Jam documentary.  My hope was to take his mind off not having friends to hang out with yet (which proved not to be true since he was offered a ride to see the football game tonight).  So, we went to sushi on Capitol Hill, then wandered downtown until the movie started.

If you’ve been on the fence about seeing this, let this tip you towards it.  The documentary was very well done and I am sure that the band is very proud of how it turned out.  Their voices were all there, not just EV’s.  I loved learning all the quirks and how they came together, what made them different from other bands and how they dealt with their fame.  I am not the most hardcore Pearl Jam fan–I’ve only seen them live once, a few years ago at the Gorge–but this show made me feel like I know them just a little.  I can’t say that someone that dislikes them would appreciate it, as there is definitely an angelic glow that covers even the most tragic events in their career, but if you do like them, see it.  You won’t be sorry.

Books!  I’ve been reading them…somewhat slowly lately.

I finished book 2 in the Monster Blood Tattoo series.  Lamplighter is the continuation of the story of Rossamund Bookchild, foundling and now apprentice lamplighter for the emperor.  Rossamund goes bravely into apprenticehood, and even though he isn’t good at everything, he makes up for it in perseverance and smarts.  Soon after arriving–a week late, as he finds he can’t live down–a young woman, Threnody, also joins the ranks and becomes a sometimes troubling friend.  Circumstances push all of the apprentices out into their profession a bit early, and Threnody volunteers to accompany him to a difficult posting.  During their time there, much happens to cause Rossamund to question who he really is.  Don’t forget the monsters and subterfuge.  I think we will learn more in book 3, Factotum.

The adventure is wondrous and the story strange.  If it weren’t for the fact that this book keeps me racing to the dictionary, I would recommend it to everyone.  It is not a light read, but very entertaining.

I am finally finishing up Perdido Street Station by China Mieville, which also had me consulting a dictionary.  Two heavy reads at the same time, it’s lucky I got through them both and almost at the same time.  I think I need some fluff to bring my brain back to earth.

I can’t say enough good about Perdido Street Station.  In fact, I can’t seem to say anything about it right now. It is amazing, the world that Mieville creates is mind blowing.  That’s not as much of a metaphor as it would usually be.  You’ll just have to read it yourself.

