One of the things I really enjoy about my job are all the opportunities to participate in events and projects.  In the last few years I have been on the Instruction Committee (creating policy around our computer classes for the public and laptop computer labs), blog committee (tech liaison etc), scheduling software committee (just wrapping up) and have helped coordinate a teen lock in/overnight, All Ages Art Night, Comixtravaganza, a regional gaming tournament and a reading marathon.  That doesn’t include the regular programming I have done at my branches and outreach to my schools.  I really love making my library a relevant and innovative space that is attractive to all ages.  Now that things have settled down with some of my other projects, I am taking some new challenges.

One thing that will take up much of my time is the formal mentoring program I entered into at work.  I am trying to figure out if management is the right direction for me–to make sure that goal isn’t sticking with me just because it feels like that should be my next step.  I love what I do, do I really need more?  One of the things I want to work on during this time is critical reading and analysis of management and library topics.  My mentor will assign me reading and I will pick something I find interesting and blog about it.  Not here–I have set up another wordpress blog and will use that.  I’ll update when I actually write something, probably in August sometime.  The other thing I will do is job shadow and interview current managers and assistant managers to see what they do and how they balance life and work.

In my own time, I also plan to submit a proposal for a presentation at WLA which is happening in Tulalip next April.  It is a small conference, close to home and a good place to try out my public speaking.  The worst thing about it is that I will probably know people there–bigger chance I’ll embarrass myself, right?  It’s a chance I’ll take.  My proposal entails building communities; how to make teen volunteers/teen advisory group ambassadors for the library and using programs to connect your library to the community.

Speaking of programs, I had a great time making books with Seattle Center for Book Arts:

