Bike to work month is wonderfully under way.  We had a great start on Sunday with temperatures in the 60’s, followed promptly by 2 days of frigid rain.  I have ridden every day and even included downtown in my commute when I had meetings down there 2 out of the 3 days.  The rainy ones of course.  And I’ve been running.  I can make it around Green Lake, even with all the biking, without walking or stopping and in under 3o minutes.  I keep forgetting to check the time when I start, but I know approximately.  I’ve been going to bed at a fairly normal hour and getting up EARLY!  So early for me–6:30am.  And not feeling dead.  So yes, exorcising…exercising, I mean…is good for me.

Some of those early meetings downtown were the staff interviews for the City Librarian candidates.  I missed one, but hit the other two.  I won’t state my preference, or even my opinion on the individuals, as I think it is too touchy a subject to air here.  The one I missed, though, is one I hope to miss entirely.  Forever.  I don’t think I have to worry about that.

What am I reading?  Well, almost done with Brain Jack, and it is shaping up and becoming a little less like Little Brother, but only a little.  I like the characters and the premise, minus the feeling that Brian Falkner and Corey Doctorow were sharing half a brain when they wrote these books.

I was away from my print books and needed something to read, so downloaded The Scar by China Mieville from the library.  It’s good so far, but I’m only a few pages in.

I am also doing some nerdy reading: Exemplary Public Libraries by Joy Marilyn Greiner.  I am mostly finding it interesting because the first couple of chapters are about libraries in the UK around the year 20o0, and now those libraries are in desperate jeopardy.  So much that the Guardian UK felt the need to post this op ed piece, somewhat late, about how great libraries really are and now necessary.  I agree with one of the goodreads reviewers that the book could have used a bit more editing and a better structure.  Plus now it is 10 years out of date and could use a brush up.  I was reading it to refresh my library theory and I am getting some of that, but finding it a bit repetitive.

