New Year resolutions should really start in Spring.  Spring is when you have the time and energy to take on change and challenge.  If you start in January, you are just setting yourself up for failure with those long dark, cold nights.

I have run around Green Lake with not one, but two running partners.  I can actually make it all the way around now without stopping or walking.  A few years ago I could have rolled out of bed, not having run for months, and done that.  But the years are catching up to me and now I have to work up to 3 miles.  But I am there and ready to go further.

Also, May is bike to work month and I am team captain of the Paperback Riders!  I am riding out early today to go get our identifiers from Cascade.  Last year it was a spoke card, the year before a luggage tag.  I can’t wait to see what they come up with this year.  In preparation for May, I am riding every day that I can now, even when I am not working.  By the end of May I should be in great physical shape.

In libraryland, we are interviewing new City Librarian candidates.  This week it will be narrowed down to three, then next week all staff are invited to go interview those 3.  The session will be facilitated by our interim CL, who is also head of HR.  I think she will do a great job.  She has proven to be a good listener and I think she will convey what she has heard from staff into her questions.  The union also gets to have a couple of facilitated questions thrown in before the general Q and A starts.

I’ll be taking notes, because I am going to facilitate a zine panel at the ALA conference in New Orleans this year.  And I think that the Mister is going to be able to come to the conference as well.  I am looking forward to seeing the city with him. And just seeing him in general.

What am I reading?  Books are letting me down, one way or another, lately.  I did like Red Glove by Holly Black, but I was a little appalled at Cassel’s friends.  I didn’t really know why they were his friends if they didn’t trust him, and there were scenes where it showed that they didn’t.  They were scared of him, but were not the type of characters to stay friends because of fear.  It bugged me all the way through the book.

I abandoned Glass Houses because the reader drove me a little crazy.  She read like everything was sexy–washing dishes, taking juice out of the fridge, sitting on the couch.

Anna and the French Kiss was ok.  I liked most of it, but I hate the clichéd cheating but everything turns out ok in the end.  In real life people don’t just forgive that and let you live happily ever after.  It is complicated and messy and a lot of the time the new relationship doesn’t work out.

Currently reading Brain Jack by Brian Faulkner.  I’d like it better if it didn’t read just like Little Brother… Yes, I know I am hard to please right now.  All of these books will be great for someone.

