Despite being tired it has been an excellent day. Someday I will grow up and realize that I should not stay up till all hours reading.

However! I got to make up my listening session with our interim City Librarian. There were only 3 of us there this morning, and her, and I really felt heard. I have high hopes that there will be things happening soon. Things that should make us all a little happier. We should hear more next week.

And! I got my funding! For my advisory group! I am so excited! Can you tell!?! Pizza for everybody!

And I moved all my new books to shelving where there is more room, because there are too many of them.  It seems like every month I have more new books than the last.  Don’t get me wrong, this is a good thing, but where to put them all?  Next I am going to have to read fiction again.  I have been enlisting the help of my awesome LAIV to help me do dusty shelf lists–it makes it easier to let them go if I just read over the titles after he’s pulled them.  If I handle them all, I want to keep them.  We have more of a connection.

What am I reading? I have been super lazy about updating goodreads and netgalley. I hope they will forgive me for another week or so. But I have been reading. When don’t I?

I am trying to finish Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin because it is due tomorrow. I heard about it from a friend who wrote a blog post for the library. It intrigued me enough to use one of my precious 25 hold spots for it, although the library didn’t have very many copies so it took a while to get it. In the mean time, I totally forgot why I put it on hold. I finally remembered today when I was talking about it with my manager.  This series was first published in the late 70’s and details life in that time in San Francisco.  As you can imagine, there is a lot of love going on, love of all kinds.  It is San Francisco after all.  I think one of the reasons why the description of this book was so appealing was because my uncle ran away to San Francisco when he was young, in the 70’s.  I hoped to see a little of what his life might have been like then.  He came back later, with a life partner and aids.  I loved him very much, even though I didn’t spend time with him until his return.  There was one visit to see them in San Fran when I was a kid, but I really only remember stuffing chicken in my cheeks.  I was going through a phase where I didn’t want to swallow food.

I can’t know if this book gives a window into what he experienced.  He’s been gone for a while now, and his partner several years later.  There’s no one left to ask.  I hope he enjoyed it.  Tales of the City makes it sound like it could have been fun, and if not, then seriously interesting.  The characters are deep, although you don’t realize it at first, and Maupin has a crazy way of making all of them interconnected.  Toward the end of the book, where I am now, you come to realize there is a mystery. I don’t know what it is yet, but I think I will very soon.  It might be another late night.

