Well, I was going to go to bed early, but instead I feel the need to write about some of the terminology I use here.  Who has heard of The BFG?  Anyone?  Of course there is also BFE, which can mean a place that is far away or obscure.  Possibly also a place you don’t want to go, but not always.  Usually there is a reason you would want to go to that place, just that it is hard to get to and a long distance.  I happen to love Roald Dahl, so I combined a bit of the two and I call the place where my son lives BFD sometimes.  As I am a big reader, I will make literary references and combine them with my own sense of fun.  Doesn’t mean I don’t like the area or that I disrespect it.

I don’t feel that misspellings are the end of all on the internets, there are a lot of them here and some are intentional.  However, if I am going to make hits on others intelligence, I usually try to make sure that everything is spelled right.  If I see something on the internet that hits me as funny that way, I might mention it, or tweet it, or whatever.  However, I am not going to make the person feel dumb by telling them their spelling is lacking.  Nor am I going to post a link, then point and laugh.  See, still not doing it.  If that is passive aggressive, I am sorry.  I see it as maturity–although not as mature as I should be, since I did make the tweet that started the slamming that is going on.  I should have known that the internet spies were watching.  Of course, I also don’t expect praise when I forward someone’s excellent posts on to my Google Reader friends.  Which I won’t link here either.

So, now you know the dangers of being catty on the internet.  People feel they should publicly shame you.  Even if that is not what you did to them.  Don’t worry, I am going to keep my chin up.

What am I reading? Lot’s of good stuff!

Currently devouring The Kneebone Boy by Ellen Potter, after reading a wonderful review by Librarian of the Teenagers.  It is quite good and reminds me of the arc I reviewed of The Atomic Weight of Secrets.  More when I am done.

I am listening to the eighth and most recent book of the Bloody Jack Series: The Wake of the Lorelei Lee: Being an Account of the Adventures of Jacky Faber, on her Way to Botany Bay by L.A. Meyer.  You have heard me rave about these books before; I love the adventure, the strong female character (with some moral flaws) and the reader is excellent–Katherine Kellgren.

And I am reading No God but God: The Origins and Evolution of Islam by Reza Aslan because I wanted to find out more about the Islamic religion and culture.  Right now I am still in the history of the religion, which I am not sure that an Islamic person would agree with (much as a Christian might not agree with an outside review of the history of Christianity) but I am hoping it will get more into the belief system later.

Here are links to my reviews for The Clearing by Heather Davis and Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool that I read while I was away and had limited posting power.

So it is good that I was bad on the internet.  It motivated me to write a blog post.

