I keep trying to figure out why I like Glee, when I hated High School Musical.  It frustrates me, with the shallow story lines and the patterns of idiotic behavior.  But then they go and point out the idiocy and own it.  And they sing songs I know instead of some craptastic ballad that just makes me want to rip my hair out.  So yeah, I like Glee.  High School Musical…not at all.  I am just starting Season 1 Part 2 and I spent the first half of the first episode feeling tired of the corny plot and the second half invigorated with they ways they used the Madonna theme move the story in new directions.  Oh, and I got it at the library.

Twitter seems ok.  It’s like Facebook, but with less stuff.  No imbedded pics, links, but no preview.  I’ve found a lot of cool things there; a video about why Twilight is popular (ha!), that my favorite authors have funny and witty things to say in less than 140 characters and that The Onion posts A LOT.

I biked to work today and ran around Green Lake with my brothers.  It kind of wore me out, but in a good way.  Hopefully I will add more running to my routine and keep it up.  I bottled some more ginger ale when I got home.  The last batch was super yummy, but tasted more like sparkling ginger lemonade than ginger ale.  I tweaked the recipe and split it in two, one with some ground ginger and the other only with fresh, but with a bit less lemon juice and sugar.

What am I reading? Like the Percy Jackson series, Iris, Messenger by Sarah Deming integrates greek mythology, but that is where the comparison ends.  Iris has a terrible time at school, and her parents just don’t understand her.  Then one birthday she gets a mysterious gift that leads her to find out that the Greek gods have moved to the burbs and have all kinds of problems of their own. The gods tell their stories (popular Greek myths) to Iris, building up to a final message that enlightens her in ways she never would have guessed.  This is a good story for younger readers (except for the ending…), and while it is a quick read, it lacks the frenzied pace of Percy.

The file for My Favorite Band Does Not Exist had a fatal flaw and would not go past page 18.  I am hoping to get a chance to read it later, as the beginning was pretty good.  I am currently reading Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, which was recommended by my sister.  It is also based on a Greek myth–Penelope of the Odyssey.  I am constantly amazed by the breadth and depth of Ms. Atwood’s writing.  To think this is the same author that wrote Oryx and Crake.

