And just as I say I am not going to try any harder, I got a twitter account.  I decided if my library system could finally bite the bullet, so could I.  I did sign up a while back for about a week before it all became too much information and I shut it back down.  I suppose I’ll add a link here when I get around to posting something.  Right now, I am trying to get a hang on what all the @ and # and acronyms mean.  I am not learning this as quickly as I usually do, probably because of the large amount of information that can be packed into 100’s of 140 character tweets.  I might need a tutor.  Luckily I seem to have a lot of friends on there.

I am encouraged with how things are going in Libraryland.  My new manager is fantastic, when I get to see her.  Her response time to email is a bit slow, but I am guessing that has to do with all her moving around.  She is in charge of 4 branches and I have only seen her twice since the beginning of January.  However, my concerns about expanding teen programming at my branch have been allayed and I am very hopeful that I will be able to have another regular monthly program along with a few add ins.  Teen Tech Week is coming up and I am hoping to host a Scratch program.  Our system participated in trying out this program along with a few others around the US.  “Scratch is a programming language that makes it easy to create your own interactive stories, animations, games, music, and art — and share your creations on the web.”  I have tried it out a couple of times and it is a lot of fun and it is easy to create some really cool simple video games and animation videos.  This one is pretty cute, for example (I didn’t see a way to embed the project).

As for a second monthly program (the first being TAG), I am thinking about simple gaming.  I would bring a Wii and we would have table games and snacks.  Just for Teens, although we also talked about having a quarterly all ages gaming day as well.  I have to talk more about that with my children’s librarian.  For future stand alone programs, I was thinking about a Teach an Adult day, where we could have the computer lab and the video games set up and the TAG members could teach adults how to use Facebook and other technologies.  With me as their fearless leader, of course.  It would be a lot like a day at the reference desk.

What am I reading? I finished Reckless by Cornelia Funke and it was a wonderful dark fairy tale.  However, this is listed as a J book and it really shouldn’t be.  The characters are adults and there is nothing light hearted in the story.  It is tragic and dark, sex and attraction is alluded to and the characters are deeply flawed (as people are) and I think this book belonged in the teen section.  /rant

Jacob Reckless lost his father to the mirror years before he learned to follow him to the land beyond, and now he has lost his brother as well.  Will is being taken away before his eyes, a slow casualty of a war they know little about.  The dark fairy has given the Goyl, a race of stone people who are embroiled in a war with humans, the power to turn any human they harm into one of them and Will was injured by one.  Jacob must save him before the stone takes over.

There is love and longing, magic and adventure, all of it dark and brooding.  I think it would be scary for anyone under 12.  The references to fairy tales is distracting from the story–the unexplained premise being that the magical items that Jacob hunts for and some of the characters and circumstances in the alternate world explain Grimm’s fairy tales.  I think a little more introduction to this would have helped.  There are also some parts where the translation is choppy (from the German) which could have been fixed with a little more editing.  Otherwise this book is enchanting and engaging.  Definitely worth the read.

