Since making angry noises on David Lee King’s blog, when he proposed that librarians should be required have their full name and picture posted on library web sites for a customer service angle, I have been evaluating having an online presence.  Up until now I have been pretty careful with my identity on the internet.  I just haven’t been ready to trust the world to leave me alone, partially due to having an ex who takes everything I say online very seriously and usually wrongly.  I was even surprised recently that his wife, who I thought was fairly savvy on the internet, saw my online prattling to mean that I spent a lot of time at happy hour and getting massages.  Since these people are already seeing me online and judging me by what I say here, why not let the world?

So I have opened up my Google profile (and so my Reader posts)  to be public, linked to my Linked-In profile and vice versa and to this blog.  I partially made this decision because of an article I read recently (which of course I cannot find now) about how prospective employers expect you to have an online presence and how if everything is locked down, you must have something to hide.  My Facebook is still pretty locked down, although you can find my name on there .  Even though I made my Google profile searchable, it isn’t coming up in a search–the fact that I have a pretty common name probably doesn’t help.   My linked-in profile is on top if you include my profession and city, but the MySpace hit is for someone else–probably because I have been inactive on there for so long.

I’m not going to do anything further to make it easier to find me right now.  Baby steps.  Most references you can find of me on the web, if you can weed them out of the b-actress hits, are from when I helped with local conferences.  Most library related things only show my first name and most comments and such use my couple of screen names.  I will see how this goes, then maybe open up a little more.  I still don’t agree with David’s premise that all librarians should be required to give up full names and pictures on a public website, but I can see the usefulness in doing so on a voluntary basis.

I’ve had the last few days off and spent the time taking my brother and his girlfriend sight seeing and to visit other family members.  We went to the Boy’s basketball game on Friday and he came home with us and he is still here now.   Yesterday was spent wandering around Pike Place Market, and of course we went to the Central Library.  We stopped at Dick’s in Queen Anne on the way back–the only place where you can get two filling meals for $10 (not something you want to do everyday, as I believe you will start having hamburger shaped protrusions emerge from your abdomen in a short time).  We took the bus around, which always lends to interesting people watching opportunities.  It’s fun being a tourist in your own city and even more fun to show off the highlights to visitors.  Next time we will have to get to the zoo and aquarium.

What am I reading? I finished The Atomic Weight of Secrets by Eden Unger Bowditch.  It was a fun book and will be great for kids (or adults) who like A Series of Unfortunate Events.  The adventure is set in 1903, and 5 children are thrown together when their scientist parents are needed for some super-secret project.  The project is so super-secret that the kids don’t know where they are or why they have been separated and go about inventing things to help them get away from the school they have been sent to and to find their missing parents.

The idea that the children of super intelligent parents will also turn out to be brilliant didn’t sit that well with me, but otherwise the story was great.  A scene where a teacher is beaten by a bad guy for information and the history of neglect by the parents of the children are a bit disturbing, so I wouldn’t recommend it to sensitive children.  I’d say the age is 7-12, but that anyone would like this book.  I am only sorry it doesn’t come out until April so I can’t start recommending it right away.

I am reading Reckless by Cornelia Funke, and while I like it, I don’t see that it is a children’s book.  It is dark, all the characters are older and I think most kids would find it scary.  It should have been put in teen or adult, but in our library system it is in the J (juvenile) section.

