But it seems like everything I want to read is in pdf now.  What happened to my EPUB?  Are they trying to force me to buy an iPad?  That is not happening on my budget.  Anyhow, I like having my ebooks very portable–as in fit in my purse or pocket.  Most readers are just too big for my tastes.

It’s supposed to snow today and everyone is hopeful that it will.  Probably because it is only supposed to be a couple of inches and not terribly cold like our last one.   Our forecast is very changeable here, though.  It has already snowed in some areas, but not at my house.  We may not see any at all at my house.

Libraryland is in a waiting period right now.  Our busy times are out of wack because of school break and a lot of people taking vacation.  No story times right now to bring in the families at certain times.  Sometimes it is quiet and half deserted and others it is hopping and 10 things are happening at once.  Kids are starting to realize they have to have books for projects when they go back to school on Monday, so they are coming in with reference questions.  Parents want to see if they can get that fun picture book they saw over xmas.  I got all my weeding done before the holiday and the advisory group is on hiatus until February, so I have been concentrating on scheduling software and not really feeling like I am getting anywhere.  Everyone is on vacation either literally or figuratively right now, and everyone is waiting to see if what happens when this round of changes are implemented on January 5th.

What am I reading? I am just finishing up The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan, which was just as I was hoping.  Jason wakes up on a bus holding a girl’s hand (Piper) and being regaled with lame jokes by a guy named Leo that claims to be his friend, but he can’t remember anything except that he knows he doesn’t belong there.  Soon the three are attacked by wind spirits and are saved by a gym coach, who turns out to be a satyr.  Next they are whisked off to Camp Half Blood and begin a quest to save the world from giants and ancient goddesses.

I have some exciting books in the hopper (iPod–unfortunately in pdf format); My Favorite Band Does Not Exist by Robert T. Jeschonek and The Atomic Weight of Secrets or the Arrival of the Mysterious Men in Black by Eden Unger Bowditch.  Oh, and Dreadnought by Cherie Priest in traditional book form.  Which to start first?

