I so hate waking up earlier than I have to.  Several times this week I have woken up around 5 and had a hard time getting back to sleep.  Twice I have spent an hour or so tossing and turning, finally just getting up.  It is somewhat productive–like today I am getting all kinds of laundry done.  Unfortunately I didn’t get to sleep until after 1am, so I am really low on sleep power.

Some of it is anxiety.  I have a program this week with local author Holly Cupala and it occured to me last night that it could be a seriously low turn out.  Not because Holly isn’t awesome, but because the audience for the event might not come together.  She is a first time young adult author who does a great job marketing herself and her book.  I just don’t know if teens will show up for a relatively new author, or if adults will even be interested aside from writing advice.  I want it to be successful, for both of us.

I also keep coming up with things I need to do.  This week is The Mister and my 3rd anniversary.  I want to send him a card and cookies, and when do I remember I need to make these cookies?  Either as I am drifting off to sleep or as I lay awake early in the morning.  Also, thank you notes for friends and colleagues.  Supplies for teen advisory meetings.  Making doctor appointments.  Getting the oil changed on the car… you get the idea.  I have a feeling that the author event is my main drain in the ability to sleep department and all the other stuff is just tagging along.  Being tired also makes my memory bad, fueling the fire.

On the fun side, I dressed up as Agatha Heterodyne from Girl Genius for Halloween.  It was a fun costume, although the blonde wig weirded me out a little.  Partially because it was nylon and showed some of the weave.  That’s what I get for $6…  Went to a friend/coworker’s party on Saturday where she and her boyfriend really went all out on their costumes and decorations.  On Sunday I wore my costume to work, then to my brother’s to give away Halloween candy to the little kiddies.

What am I reading? I finished Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan.  It totally rocked.  Will Grayson is dealing with high school the best way he knows how, by the Rules.  1. Don’t care too much and 2. Shut up.  He breaks all these rules repeatedly, which he blames all his troubles on.  For example, when he writes a letter to the school paper defending his friend’s right to be in the locker room with the rest of the team (a right that’s questioned because the friend is gay) and signs it.  He laments often “if only I hadn’t signed it…”.  Will Grayson is about to meet a fragmented version of himself, who also tries to stay out of the spotlight and not care too much.  This other Will Grayson is gay and just beginning to come to terms with it.  Things change subtly and exponentially after the two meet, and it is a trip you will want to take.

I also read Farm City, The Education of an Urban Farmer by Novella Carpenter.  This is an engaging memoir of a woman who moved to Oakland CA (from Seattle) and slowly turned her urban dwelling into a burgeoning farm.  She starts with a garden, squatted on an adjacent lot from a distant owner, sets up a bee hive on her porch and eventually moves on through chickens, turkeys, rabbits and finally two huge pigs.  The experiment is interesting and while she doesn’t always succeed she does always learn something.  Her alternative lifestyle is different enough from the norm that although the story chronicles her everyday life, you keep turning the pages to see what dumpster she will be diving into next.

