I got home on Monday night and could tell my furniture had been moved around.  I live with housemates, but I have my own floor, so things like this don’t usually happen.  Soon the handyman guy came down and told me that the new windows came in and they had replaced the one in my son’s room already, but couldn’t get the bed out of the way in the back room without moving a bunch of stuff.  New windows are awesome, so I didn’t bother telling them about the usual notice I should have gotten.  Now both windows are almost in, they just need some trim and stuff.  These should help keep out the drafts and maybe a few of the spiders…

It has also been raining since I got home, and I don’t mind one bit.  Vegas was very sunny and hot and even with a 50 spf sunscreen applied often I still got a sunburn.  It doesn’t hurt, but I am quite red in places.

Today I am cooking and cleaning.  Turkey chili!  Cleaning… :(  I need to organize this place bad.  Living here for 4 years has really made me accumulate a lot of stuff.  I have only been back at work for one day and mostly worked on the Banned Books display–which is rather grand thanks to the art of our LAIV, lettering by our children’s librarian and organization by me.  We do good work.

Before I left I had a wonderful morning with my friend Jess and her daughter.  We went to the park and out for Pho.  Jess gave me a really cool book,  just to say thank you for our friendship.  I love it!  I recommend that all my library friends read It’s a Book by Lane Smith.  It will make you chuckle.

What else have I read? Clementine by Cherie Priest, which I liked better than Boneshaker.  The story is only loosely related to that first book, in that it is set in the same Steampunk world during the Civil War era and there are mentions of those characters, but the story is uniquely its own.  Maria Boyd is a famous confederate spy, which makes her highly unemployable in her trade.  When she is offered a P.I. gig in Chicago, she weighs her options and goes for it.  Her first mission is to distract a fugitive slave/bank robber/all around bad guy from stopping a shipment of food and medicine getting to hospitals.  Things don’t turn out to be as they were explained, however and Boyd finds herself teaming up with the fugitive to stop a massacre.

I just finished The Red Thread by Ann Hood.  It was clichéd and predictable, and Hood tried to bring in too many characters on a personal level, each one fit some sort of type and only the women were described in any detail..  The main character felt unwieldy and shallow.  The story itself was interesting, but I kept trying to figure out when it was set.  There were cell phones and emails, but most of the fashion and name choices made me think of the 80’s.  It seems that goodreads users liked it, as it has a 3.66 rating.  I did feel compelled to read it to the end.  Sorry, what’s the story, right…  An emotionally wreaked woman runs an adoption agency for US parents adopting from China.  She herself lost her own child to a tragic accident, which she can’t get over.  The book tells us little bits of each adoptive family’s life and the story of the mother (or in one case Father) of the child left for adoption.  The second of those were actually good and I looked forward to those chapters even though they were typed entirely in italics.  The story takes the families through the adoption process and the main character through her self forgiveness ordeal.  Sigh.

Now I am reading The Broken Teaglass by Emily Arsenault.  And first, let me say that I am surprised to see that the writer is a woman, because the first 3 characters we are introduced to are all men, including the main character and the voice is so strong that I would have assumed (I know…) that the writer was a man.  So far I like it.  It is very different than what I have been reading lately, so it is a bit of a breath of fresh air.  So far the writing reminds me of Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides.

