I can’t believe I am leaving tonight for Boston.  Every time I travel I get a feeling that my plane is going to end up in some strange place instead of where I am supposed to be going.  Too many sci-fi action books/movies/tv I guess.  I am pretty excited to see Boston and to see my brother when I take a day trip to New York.  I have never been to the East coast but a friend was in New York recently on her way to Puerto Rico, so she has given me all kinds of ideas where I need to go.  It sounds like my hotel in Boston is in the thick of things, so no problems there.

I have not been a consistent blogger lately and traveling usually makes me worse.  I am not taking my laptop with me, since I am flying on United and weather is going to be HOT, allowing me to pack light and only bring carry on.  I hate checking bags.  My point? Oh!  I am bringing my iPod touch and will post updates, but they will be short (which my posts are not, usually).  I will regale you with tales of the fun union conference, places I visit, and maybe the score of the Redsox game I am going to on Wednesday.  I might say a word or two about the books I am bringing with me, but there won’t be any links, so I will trust you to look them up on your own.

Speaking of books, I think I mentioned that I read For the Win by Cory Doctorow.  I didn’t talk about it earlier because there is so much to say.  Set just a little bit in the future Cory takes us on a roller coaster journey around several continents to follow gold farmers in different virtual worlds.  Mala is a gamer in rural India and at first the extra money that gaming brings in makes up for any hardship that working for the boss might be.  Big Sister Nor is from Indonesia and is recruiting for the Webblies (Workers of the World Wide Web) and she contacts people like Mala, trying to recruit them for the union she is building. This book is complicated and compelling.  Doctorow takes a few breaks from the amazing story telling to explain how the economy works in the virtual world and the lessons are interesting.  I wish I had had him for my economics instructor in college. Here is an example:

no one is in charge of it [the economy]. Some people may claim to be, but they’re in charge of one tiny piece of it, and maybe they think their piece is a brake or a steering wheel, but they’re wrong.  The world’s economy is a runaway train, the driver dead at the switch, the passengers clinging on for dear life as their possessions go flying off freight-cars and out windows, and each curve in the tracks threatens to take it off the rails altogether.”  pg 370

What am I reading now? I just started Fallen by Lauren Kate and I haven’t gotten in far enough to say if I like it.  The writing is ok, but the story is very vague so far.

