have you been?” I remember my mom asking me that frequently as a child. I would run off to play, get lost in some fantasy land and lose track of time. Unfortunately that is not what happened this time, unless you count reading For the Win by Cory Doctorow–’cause that book really took me on a trip.

I have just been working working working; weeding the teen fiction collection before I go to Boston this weekend, making sure that Instruction issues are handled and handing some of the reigns to our LAIV who is bored sitting at the desk 7 hours a day.

Thanks to him taking some of this on, I will be freed up to do teen programming in the fall.  Now I just have to decide what form that should take.  I know I have sounded wishy washing explaining to my manager what I want to do, but in actuality, I want to do a lot of things.  I would like to have  a monthly drop in with different activities that I hope will draw a wide variety of teens.  I need to talk to some of my sno-isle and KCLS friends and see what has worked for them.  I’d like it to be a sort of advisory board, but without the volunteer element as I don’t have enough for 10 volunteers to do.  Then again, maybe once a month I do.  :P  Summer reading will give me a better idea of what will fly.  Robots and cute creatures and gaming, oh my!

I got clipless pedals for my bike from my former advisor and shoes and cleats from my papa for my birthday.  I rode with them for the first time today and I made it there fine.  Unfortunately on the way back I was not so lucky.  When I reached Green Lake I didn’t pull my foot off the clip in time and I fell over, except that I got my foot under myself at the last minute and bounced back up.  I am sure it was very comical.  At Greenwood I wasn’t so lucky.  I rode up the hill, marveling at how much easier it was with the clips.  When I got near the top, I was gearing up to be ready to cross the street, looking for traffic and I had just started to twist my foot out of the clip when a runner suddenly launched off the sidewalk on my left and scared the shii out of me.  I didn’t get my foot out in time and my elbow and knee hit the pavement.  Once again I bounced back up, which probably looked pretty funny, and this time my hair was wildly escaping my helmet straps.  The guy stopped to check on me, offering to take me to his place to clean up, but I begged off.  I wasn’t badly hurt, although I am pretty sore now and had to ice my elbow for a while when I got home.

What am I reading? Currently I have The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi, which is an interesting alternate reality or dystopian future where farming went wrong at some crucial time in history and genetically altered crops created all sorts of problems from a deadly rust fungus to ivory beetles that eat everything in their path.  Human kind is still messing up everything even though they should know better.  The story is set in Bangkok, which is surrounded by a huge sea wall to keep the ocean out.  The title character is a created girl who has been set apart from human kind on purpose to show the difference in her make up–she has shutter stop motion so she always stands out.  She has also been bred to be subservient and to please whomever is before her, although her mind wants something else.  There are several other plots going on and the whole thing is quite complicated, but I am loving it.

