I am home sick today.  Luckily there is nothing really pressing that I am missing at work, although there is always something I should be doing.  Yesterday was super busy with reference questions and readers’ advisory and I was alone last night.  I doubt that is what gave me an upset stomach though.  It is all ginger ale today.

There was one cute dad and son duo who wanted picture books with superheroes.  I showed them the youngster comics (vs teen or adult), but those seemed a little much for an almost 2-year-old.  All of our superhero picture books were checked out, but I put several fun looking titles on hold for them.  Dad was very excited.

One of the drawbacks of being a very busy branch is that we often do not have popular titles that are on the shelves at other branches.  When I first got to my new branch, I felt like the shelves were full of fluff and books you give kids who have read all the popular stuff–not saying they are bad books, they just haven’t gotten the acclaim of others due to timing, marketing or whatever.  Soon I realized that everything I am used to seeing and being able to recommend was simply checked out.  Which is a good thing, but makes RA difficult.  I can see this happens in adult and children’s collections, too.

There is a computer class today, but it is taught by a coworker.  I have one on Friday, so I need to make sure I am better by then.  I am a little glad that the weather has turned rainy again so that people will be more motivated to come to our classes rather than spending the day in the sunshine.

Being Treasurer is anti-climatic so far.  We had an executive board meeting last Friday where I was vocal on the points that mattered to me and listened otherwise.  I once called someone by the wrong name and another time said the wrong month repeatedly–but I am sure no one noticed what a moron I am ;)  I need to find that magic thing that will open up my memory for words and names.

What am I reading? Bitter Seeds by Ian Tregillis is an alternative history of WWII Europe where a Nazi doctor has made gods out of children, or just experiments gone wrong.  I am about a quarter of the way through and enjoying it.  I have to say that I don’t understand why someone who likes this wouldn’t like Boneshaker.  I’m just saying.  (This was recommended to me by someone who didn’t and when asked why, just said “I couldn’t suspend my disbelief.”  Hmm.

I also just finished Foiled by Jane Yolen, which was very good.  I loved this story of a young woman who is a fearsome fencer in New York. At school one day she meets a beautiful boy and falls for him, but something is not right. When his anger and fear show themselves, she is strong and stands up to him.  Beautiful graphic novel, wonderful story.

