I was right, last week was great and this week is going to be too.  Work is going well.  We have a small but robust start to our computer classes, my volunteers are so efficient I have to find more things for them to do and tomorrow I have a school visit with 2 fellow teen services librarians.  This morning I helped interview for my friend‘s position.  He got a temp job at another branch as a librarian, so we need someone who can do his job for a few months (because nobody can really fill his shoes…).  Participating on the interview team showed me how awful I looked when I was interviewing.  I was always terribly nervous and couldn’t put two thoughts together to save my life.  There was only a little of that with these two, but they still reminded me of my trembling self and I cringed a bit.  I’ve had a few interviews in the last year or two that have gone much better, but I think it really helped that I was miserably sick when I interviewed for the first temp position I got as a librarian.

I worked all weekend but still got out to (the same) friend’s housewarming party.  I really just went to see his table, which he made.  I am always in awe of people who can make useful things that are also pleasant looking.  I also went so I could spill lemonade on his wife’s shoes.  Because that is what you do at a housewarming party, sort of like a christening.  Would anyone else like me to provide this service?  It is free as long as you provide the lemonade.  Oh, and there were lot’s of good people there that I enjoy hanging out with.  That might also have been a motivation.

Wednesday I get to see my WAL peeps.  I miss them all so much.  Some force is trying to keep us apart–we all work different schedules and far across town now.  I am really looking forward to seeing them, I can barely wait (I might even bring my own lemonade … you know, for funsies).

What am I reading? I finished Incarceron.  It was decent, but not phenomenal.  It is a good book to give a teen who has liked Maze Runner or Hunger Games and I have a feeling there will be at least a second book if not a series.

I just started I Rode a Horse of Milk White Jade by Diane Lee Wilson and it is the most uncorrected proof I have ever read.  I think they rushed it to get it out at PLA.  It will be a nice addition to the historical fiction category, set in the 1200’s during Kublai Kahn’s rule, the story follows the adventures of a young girl who was maimed by a horse in infancy and found her fate entwined with theirs.  The story is not that different from a native american one (I feel like you could substitute a few words, names and landmarks and it wouldn’t be distinguishable), but does include vocabulary and cultural references from Mongol history.

