I have really loved my free time lately.  When I am not at work, I am running at Greenlake with a friend, reading or spending time with friends and family.  I know that isn’t mind blowing, but in recent times I have gotten into a rut where too much time is spent in front of the computer, surfing the internet, reading blogs and checking facebook.  It is amazing how much time you can spend doing these things and before you know it, you are up an hour past bedtime or it is time to catch the bus.

Don’t get me wrong, I still spend time on the computer but I have definitely changed my priorities.  I make plans with friends to make sure I get ready and leave the house.  My friends don’t mind that I am using them–they are incentive rather than excuses anyway, and it means I get to see them more.  I tried being motivated on my own on Monday, but got caught up in making my own ringtone using Audacity (tutorial here).  I barely caught my bus to work.

So less internet at home.  And less at work too, actually.  I used to do a lot of professional reading (cough) at work on the net in my down time, but now I don’t have any down time–and if I do, then I should really be checking my task list because there is definitely something I should be doing.  I like being busy, but I worry about missing or forgetting something (see previous post).

Today is the first day of computer classes.  It should be winding down about now, actually.  I hope that everything is going smoothly.  I had my volunteers help me set up the room and computers yesterday and aside from needing some more power strips and an extension cord, it was perfect.  Got my fingers crossed.

Still Reading: The Passage.  Have I mentioned it is over 700 pages?  Probably a few times.  I am about halfway done, still loving it.  It is definitely futuristic, rather than alternative universe.  The last recorded date I have seen is 2016, but know that is at least 80 years in the past at the point where I am reading.  Amy (cute little girl that cannot die)  is back and there is a main character named Peter who met her in an abandoned mall.  I am looking forward to getting to know them both better.

