I have been a flurry of activity the last few weeks.  Work has been hella busy, with the added responsibilities of being a Teaching Center Lead.  Things are finally falling into place though, and we are finding that we can do more than we thought possible.  I will be teaching a couple of times a month, and that ought to help me get over the big bad jitters I get whenever I speak in front of a group.

Finding out that I would be the instruction Lead at my branch, I decided to look again at my PLA schedule and see if there were any instruction related topics I could go to.  My best effort didn’t turn anything up, though.  I am already attending a few “management” sessions–things like how to deal with difficult situations and people and strategic planning–and I suppose those will have to do.

I saw a bit of the news today and it really worried me to see that some states are withholding tax refunds in order to keep money in their own accounts.  Not forever, but from anywhere to a week, to months.  California did that last year, but promise not to this year.  This made me think about the budget here and how we are already in the hole $10 million (5 from last year and 5 from this year) and how much worse 2011 is probably going to be.  There was another news program that told of schools cutting budgets already, taking money from sports, libraries and academic programs.  It makes me sad.

I learned about the city’s budget numbers last night at the union meeting I attended.  It was the nomination meeting for our next union executive board and I was nominated for treasurer to run against a long time position holder.  There is a lot of change coming to our union and I think it is seriously a good thing.  If nothing else has come from this bad budget and all the changes, it has forced us all to be more involved.

What am I reading? I am listening to The Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady by L.A. Meyers. It is a wonderful story that kind of reminds me of The Little Princess, in that Mary “Jacky” Faber is sent to a high falutin’ girls school to receive an education, she is demoted to downstairs help while her money is kept in “safe keeping” by the mistress of the house. She even sleeps in the attic! That is where the resemblence ends. Jacky Faber has so much life to her, everything is an adventure. This is the second book in the series. I listened to Bloody Jack with the boys during our trip to Cali a couple of months ago. I can’t wait for the third one.

What happened to The Man Who Ate the World? Well, I forgot it in the car for a couple of days and I plan to get back to it. I will let you know.  I also picked up If I Stay by Gayle Forman and am enjoying it quite a bit so far.

