The library is super busy lately.  Storytime started back up this week and there have been tons of cute preschoolers and older children (as opposed to the not so cute ones) in asking for all sorts of fun books–trains, spies, and flowers.  The children that come into my new branch seem so much better behaved and happy than those at other branches I’ve worked at.  I want to know the parent’s secrets.  There are still screamers, but not as many and the parents seem to have a clue that screaming children don’t mix very well with the library.

I am interviewing for new teen volunteers.  The girl that I interviewed yesterday (girl!  thrilling!  I could only get boys at my old branch–parents wouldn’t let girls volunteer there because it was a “bad” neighborhood), is super responsible and seems like a good fit.  I hope she doesn’t overwhelm herself, since she is a senior, working on her senior project and working.  I have added a few things to the volunteer list, like monthly blog posts and a monthly group meeting.  My old volunteers balked at doing these things, but it is interesting how if that is the initial expectation, they don’t bat an eyelash.  I am pretty flexible on schedules, since I know how busy high school can be.

I have also been handed a new opportunity at my branch.  I will be the Teaching Center Lead–we are one of the branches that have a computer lab and will be teaching computer classes.  It will be my job to schedule those classes and oversee the instructors.  The only downside to this is it makes me feel that I should relinquish my position on the blog board.  I am part time and with this added responsibility, I don’t think I will have the time to give enough attention to Push to Talk and still be able to do programming.

What am I reading? The Man Who Ate the World by Jay Rayner that was recommended by my friend.  I just started though, so I don’t have anything for you yet.

I just finished Secret Son by Laila Lalami, which I really enjoyed.  This is the upcoming Seattle Reads book and I read it so that I can introduce the book and our related programs to the book group.  I don’t always like the Seattle Reads titles, but this one I did.  Youssef is a nineteen year old boy who has been fed on dreams of a father that never was.  His life changes dramatically when his mother finally tells him truth of his past.  With that secret bursting in his chest, knowing that Moroccan society will not forgive him for his bastard birth, Youssef attempts to find out who he is and what he should do with his life.  There is an unexpected twist at the end that really makes it worth reading.

