Biking and running have worn me out this month.  I was just about half way through and felt like I hit a wall with both.  Like I couldn’t improve no matter how much I tried.  It’s been a little better since I lubed my chain and made a few other adjustments to my bike and took a couple of days off from running.

I was also convinced that a week in May wasn’t there.  I had superimposed this week with last week.  I told people I had meetings I didn’t have, gave the wrong days off to one of my TAG kids when he wanted to come in and meet with me.  Luckily I realized in time and was able to rectify my mistakes, but I felt silly.  Otherwise I felt pretty sharp, conversing with colleges and getting things done.

I didn’t feel much up to blogging, which is why I only posted the lame one before this.  I am in a reading funk–trying to finish The Scar before it’s due in a couple of days and failing miserably.  Usually I can read a book in a day or two, a week sometimes for adult fiction, but here I am at the end of a 21 day check out less than half way through.  This would make sense if I didn’t like the book, but I do.

***

In Libraryland I posted a link to a blog post by Seth Gobin at work, hoping to start a discussion, pulling this quote for the headline:

mere clerks who guard dead paper

We did have a good discussion about the post, and a good response by another blogger was posted.  It wasn’t until later that night when I went to Facebook that I found out that some had taken the quote too literally and hadn’t clicked through to read the article.  Sometimes circulation staff are referred to as clerks and so some of them took this as a personal affront.  I am not sure if I should feel bad about the misunderstanding.  I do regret that feelings were hurt, but I also wonder why they didn’t click through and see what the post was all about.  He isn’t insulting clerks, he’s telling librarians to get off their asses and get with the times.  And even though the post contains quite a few misconceptions about what libraries and librarians are doing and how easy it is to find information on the internet, he is entirely correct on that point.

In other library news, as you may have seen in the paper we have a new City Librarian.  He was the best of the three candidates, in my opinion and I’ve decided to be optimistic until he proves me wrong.  Ha, that doesn’t sound very, does it?  He has a good attitude, is a great public speaker and doesn’t seem to be bringing any baggage with him.  Long live MT.

Ooh, and we teen librarians have a pretty awesome summer reading program planned.  I can’t wait to start!