Parts of this year were difficult.  I would get lonely and down, then either become anti-social and keep to myself, or do a frenzy of booking things with people.  The Mister’s been gone for 10 months now and I haven’t seen him since February.  My son is with me every other weekend, and we talk and text a few times a week (my bright spots).  The winter months were the hardest time.  It was dark when I left for work (and I leave pretty late!) and it was dark when I got home.  My days off were filled with rain.  (This is an exaggeration, but often how I felt.)

It’s still a bit rainy out, off and on.  Even Cliff Mass agrees that it has been colder than usual for this time of year, and he’s pretty good at setting us straight when we start getting meloncoly around here.  However, this weekend was a turning point for me and the weather today reflected that.  It was fairly sunny and warm and I finally embraced being on my own–even if I didn’t realize that’s what I was doing.  It’s only looking back that I realize that I wasn’t lonely or tired or depressed all weekend.  I gardened, I biked, I ran, I went to the Farmer’s Market on my own and attended a p-patch volunteer meeting.

I’m not saying I’m cured, but I hope that the SADness stays away and that before next winter I find the right ways of coping with the darkness.  I hear there are lights and things that help.  I’m a librarian, I can do the research.  Sometimes it just takes being on the other side before you realize that you should have done something differently.

And I made the best collard green chips today.  My collards made it through the winter (just like me!) and there are so many, I had to find something creative to do with them.  Later tonight I am going to make them again with some sugar for a sweet and salty flavor.  They’re even pretty good for you.

What am I reading?  I finished Changeless by Gail Carriger on my trip as well as all those audio books.  I liked it as much as the first, a wonderful distraction.  No great literary work, but very enjoyable.  I seem to be on a trashy supernatural kick and I have also finished Dark Reunion by L. J. Smith, which was ok, but really disappointed me in the end–just too unbelievable.  Yes, I know.  Fantasy.  But there have to be some rules or the story just doesn’t work.

Now I am working on Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, which is an unimaginative book that follows the same basic theme as many other books I’ve read recently.  Girl goes to a new school, finds friends, has a crush, stops feeling sorry for herself and finally starts living.  However, this one is interesting, well written, catches the imagination and doesn’t require the main character to do anything illegal to get where she’s going.

Anna is sent to Paris by her father to attend the American School in Paris.  She didn’t really want to go and leave her friends and the possibility of a new relationship.  She’s petrified of leaving the school, not knowing any French and this fear seems to be the main thing she needs to overcome to begin her new life.  I haven’t gotten that far yet, and I’ll let you find out for yourself if you choose to read it.

